Star Trek: Picard – Season 2 (2022)

Star Trek: Picard – Season 2 (2022) 🛰🚀

“This isn’t Star Trek… this is fanfic that somehow got a budget.”




🎬 Let’s start by showing y’all the trailers shall we?






📖 Non-Spoiler Plot Overview

So Season 2 brings back Jean-Luc Picard (Patrick Stewart), and this time we’re dealing with:

The Borg Queen

Q messing with the timeline

An alternate dystopian future

Time travel back to 2024


And on paper?

That sounds HUGE.

That sounds like classic Star Trek insanity with actual stakes.

But instead…

This turns into one of the most dragged-out, confused, and completely mismanaged storylines I’ve seen.

You take a big concept… and somehow make it feel small, boring, and all over the place at the same time.




🎭 Character Rundown

Jean-Luc Picard (Patrick Stewart) — I don’t even know what to say anymore.

They didn’t just mishandle him in Season 1.

They double down here.

This is not Picard.

This is a man who:

constantly hesitates

constantly questions himself

constantly feels like he’s being dragged through the story instead of leading it


This is supposed to be one of the greatest captains in Starfleet history.

And here?

He feels like he’s just… there.

Watching things happen.

Reacting.

Struggling to keep up.

That is not Picard.

That is character assassination.




Raffi Musiker (Michelle Hurd) — still angry, still unstable, still exhausting to watch. The show keeps trying to make her emotional arcs hit, and they just don’t. It feels like constant yelling and frustration without payoff.

Seven of Nine (Jeri Ryan) — somehow even MORE off than Season 1.

Now we’re in a timeline where she’s not even Borg, and instead of exploring that in a meaningful way, the show just kind of… uses it as a gimmick.

This is not the Seven people know.

Cristóbal Rios (Santiago Cabrera) — stuck in a storyline that feels completely disconnected from everything else. Him getting involved with people in 2024 feels like filler half the time.

Agnes Jurati (Alison Pill) — oh boy.

This is where things really go off the rails.

Her entire arc with the Borg Queen becomes one of the most baffling decisions this show makes.

Because instead of the Borg being what they’ve always been…

They turn into something else entirely.




🧠 The Borg Queen (Annie Wersching)

Let’s talk about this.

Because this is where the show completely loses it.

The Borg are supposed to be:

cold

calculating

a collective

emotionless

terrifying


They are not supposed to be… lonely.

They are not supposed to want friends.

And yet this season turns the Borg Queen into basically:

“I’m alone… I just want connection…”

I’m sorry… WHAT??

That completely destroys what the Borg are.

They’re not misunderstood.

They’re not secretly emotional.

They’re a collective force that assimilates people without care.

Turning that into some weird emotional loneliness arc?

That’s not clever.

That’s not deep.

That’s just completely misunderstanding the core of what made them work.

By the end of this season, the Borg don’t even feel like the Borg anymore.

They feel like a completely different concept wearing the same name.

Q (John de Lancie) — this should have been one of the best parts of the season.

Q has always been that chaotic, god-like entity who messes with Picard not just to cause problems, but to challenge him, test him, push him to think deeper. There’s always been a purpose behind what he does, even when he’s being a menace.

And in this season?

He feels… off.

Not completely broken like some of the other characters, but definitely not used the way he should’ve been.

They give him this whole storyline where he’s losing his powers, acting more desperate, more emotional, and while I get what they were going for… it just doesn’t fully land because of everything else happening around him.

He ends up feeling underused.

This is Q. This is one of the most iconic characters in Star Trek, and instead of building the season around him properly, the show kind of just drops him in here and there.

There are moments where he feels right—where you see glimpses of classic Q—but they’re buried under a storyline that never fully commits.

And his final scenes?

They’re meant to be emotional.

And on their own, they kind of are.

But because the rest of the season is such a mess, it doesn’t hit as hard as it should.

Q deserved better than this.




⏱️ Pacing / Episode Flow

This season DRAGS.

You’ve got:

time travel

alternate timelines

character backstories

random side plots


And somehow… it feels like nothing is happening.

It stretches everything out way longer than it needs to.

Scenes linger.

Plots stall.

And by the time anything actually matters, you’re already exhausted.




✅ Pros

Q (John de Lancie).

That’s it.

And even then?

He’s underused.

This is one of the best characters in Star Trek, and instead of fully committing to him, the show kind of just sprinkles him in.

There are moments where you see what this season COULD have been.

Moments.

Very brief ones.

And then it goes right back to being a mess.




❌ Cons

Everything else.

The writing is all over the place.

The tone still doesn’t feel like Star Trek.

The cussing is still there and still doesn’t belong.

The characters still don’t feel like themselves.

Picard is still being treated like he’s lost his edge completely.

The Borg are completely butchered.

The story is stretched way too thin.

And worst of all?

This doesn’t feel like it was written by people who understand The Next Generation.

It feels like people who read a summary of it and said:

“yeah we can do that.”




💭 Final Thoughts

This season takes everything that didn’t work in Season 1…

And somehow makes it worse.

It takes iconic elements like the Borg and completely rewrites what they are.

It continues to mishandle Picard as a character.

It drags its story out to the point where it becomes exhausting.

And it feels like it has no clear identity.

At this point, calling this Star Trek feels generous.

Because it doesn’t feel like Star Trek.

It feels like fanfiction.

Expensive fanfiction.




⭐ Rating

0/10




⚠️ Spoiler Warning

Alright… now we’re going all in.




🚨 Spoilers

The alternate timeline setup?

Wasted.

The 2024 setting?

Dragged out way too long.

Rios staying behind?

Random.

Jurati merging with the Borg Queen?

Why?

And then turning the Borg into this “we just want connection” collective?

No.

That’s not the Borg.

That’s not what they are.

That’s not what made them terrifying.

That’s not what made them work.

And then Q’s ending?

It’s emotional… but it feels buried under everything else that’s going wrong.

So instead of hitting hard, it just kind of… happens. Why is it emotional? Turns out hes dying from a terminal illness, hmmmmm funny didn’t know God’s could die from terminal illness.

⚡ Q “Dying” — “When Did Gods Start Getting Terminal Illnesses?”

Okay… I’ve gotta talk about this.

Because even though Q (John de Lancie) getting a sendoff in Picard Season 2 is emotional—and yeah, I’ll admit, it’s wholesome seeing how much he actually cares about Picard—

The whole idea of him “dying”?

I’m sorry… what?




This is Q.

A being who is:

👉 outside of time
👉 outside of space
👉 basically a god

And the show goes:

👉 “yeah… he’s fading… he’s dying…”




And I’m just sitting there like:

Since when do gods get terminal illnesses??




The show tries to frame it as:

👉 he’s “shutting down”
👉 something’s wrong with the Continuum
👉 his powers are fading

But the way it’s presented?

It feels like:

👉 Q caught a disease

And that just does not match what Q is supposed to be.




It honestly reminds me of Wrath of the Titans where the gods start turning to dust because people stop worshiping them.

And I had the same reaction there:

That doesn’t make any sense.




Because the whole point of these beings is that they are:

👉 beyond human rules
👉 beyond biology
👉 beyond limitations

So when you suddenly go:

👉 “they’re dying like us”

It completely breaks the illusion.




It’s like giving a god a health bar.

And once you do that?

They’re not really gods anymore.




Now yeah—the emotional part works.

Q saying goodbye to Picard?

That lands.

That’s a great moment.




But the logic behind it?

Why he’s dying?

How he’s dying?

Why NOW?




Yeah…

That’s where it falls apart for me.

Because you can’t take something that’s supposed to be limitless…

…and then suddenly make it work like a human.




It just doesn’t make any sense.




Yeah…

This season is rough.

Not just bad.

Not just disappointing.

It’s frustrating.

Because it keeps showing flashes of what it COULD be…

And then immediately throws it away.




At this point?

Yeah…

This is not Star Trek.

Join me as we roast season 3 of Picard.

Leave a comment