Ralph Breaks the Internet (2018)

on

Ralph Breaks the Internet (2018) 🕹


“What if we took everything great about the first movie… and hit it with a Wi-Fi signal until it broke?”




🎬 Let’s start by showing y’all the trailers shall we?






🧾 Non-Spoiler Plot Overview

So this time around, Ralph (John C. Reilly) and Vanellope (Sarah Silverman) leave the arcade and enter the internet after Sugar Rush gets unplugged.

The goal? Find a replacement steering wheel on eBay before the game gets shut down for good.

Simple, right?

Yeah… no.

Instead, we get a full tour of the internet—viral videos, pop-up ads, algorithms, Disney cameos, and a whole lot of “hey remember this brand??” energy—while Ralph and Vanellope’s friendship starts to crack under the pressure of… well… Ralph being Ralph.




🎭 Character Rundown

💥 Ralph (John C. Reilly)

I’m just gonna say it.

They butchered him.

In the first movie, Ralph was insecure but learning. He grew. He understood boundaries. He made mistakes but owned them.

In this movie? He regresses HARD.

He becomes:

Clingy

Jealous

Immature to a painful degree


Like… this man goes from “I want to be accepted” to

> “If you leave me, I will literally break the internet.”



And I wish I was exaggerating.




🍬 Vanellope von Schweetz (Sarah Silverman)

Vanellope is… fine.

She actually has a solid arc about wanting more out of life than the same repetitive races. That part works.

But the movie sidelines her emotional weight in favor of Ralph spiraling like a toddler who dropped his ice cream.




🧠 Yesss (Taraji P. Henson)

She’s basically the algorithm lady.

Energetic, flashy, very “social media influencer meets business coach.” She exists to explain how the internet works in the most simplified way possible.

Not bad… just very “we needed someone to narrate the internet.”




👾 Shank (Gal Gadot)

Shank is cool. Honestly.

She’s part of this gritty racing game and gives Vanellope a glimpse into something more exciting.

But again… she mostly exists to push Vanellope’s arc forward.




👑 The Disney Princesses

Alright… here we go.

This is the most blatant “look at our IP collection” flex I’ve seen in a minute.

Is it funny? Yeah, a little.

Is it clever seeing them break their stereotypes? Sure.

Does it completely derail the movie into cameo chaos?

Absolutely.




⏱️ Pacing / Story Flow

This movie doesn’t feel like a story.

It feels like:

Scene

Reference

Joke

Cameo

Repeat


There’s no real momentum—just a series of internet-themed segments loosely stitched together.

It’s less “adventure” and more “guided tour through Disney’s brand catalog.”




❌ Cons (aka the main event)

💀 Character Assassination of Ralph

This is the biggest problem.

Ralph learns NOTHING from the first movie.

He becomes so dependent on Vanellope that when she wants to explore something new, his response isn’t:

> “I’ll miss you, but I get it.”



Nope.

His response is:

> “I’m going to sabotage your entire life so you can’t leave me.”



That’s not insecurity anymore—that’s just toxic.




🌐 The Internet Gimmick

The internet is portrayed like:

Literal pop-up cities

Walking ads

BuzzTube (totally not YouTube guys, totally different)


It feels outdated and surface-level, like someone explained the internet to a boardroom in 2016 and they said:

> “Perfect. Ship it.”






🎭 Cameo Overload

This movie is OBSESSED with cameos.

Disney characters
Star Wars
Marvel
Princesses

At a certain point you’re not watching a story—you’re playing:

> “Oh look, it’s THAT thing.”



It becomes distracting instead of fun.




🤦‍♂️ Dumb Moments (There are MANY)

Ralph creating viral videos by acting like a complete idiot

The spam army scene (yes… that happens)

Breaking the internet because of insecurity

The eBay bidding scene going completely off the rails

The algorithm basically being treated like a person you can just talk to


It’s just… a lot of nonsense.




🎯 Final Thoughts

This is one of the most frustrating sequels I’ve seen.

Because it could’ve worked.

The idea of exploring the internet? Great.
Vanellope wanting more? Great.

But instead of building on the first movie, it tears down its main character and replaces heart with references.

It’s louder. Bigger. Flashier.

And somehow… emptier.




⭐ Rating

3/10

Yeah. That low.




⚠️ Spoiler Warning

Alright… here’s where we talk about the ONE thing this movie actually did right.




🚨 Spoilers

🚀 The Third Act (aka “Ralph Breaks Everything”)

So Ralph, in peak bad decision mode, uses a spam website to create hundreds—no, THOUSANDS—of clones of himself.

Because obviously that’s a good idea.

These clones start multiplying based on insecurity (yes, really), forming this giant horrifying Ralph monster made entirely of needy, clingy versions of himself.

And what does this monster do?

It tries to trap Vanellope so she can never leave him.

Let that sink in.

That’s where his character ends up.

Not misunderstood. Not growing.

But literally becoming a physical manifestation of toxic dependency.




💔 The Ending (The ONLY thing that works)

Now THIS… I’ll give the movie credit.

Ralph finally realizes:

> “If I really care about her… I have to let her go.”



And honestly?

That hit.

After all the chaos, all the bad writing, all the nonsense… this moment feels real.

Vanellope chooses to stay in the online racing game.

Ralph goes back to the arcade.

They don’t stay together.

They don’t force a happy ending.

They grow apart.

And that… sucks.

In the most real, emotional way possible.

It’s about friendships changing. People moving on. Life not staying the same.

And yeah…

That part? That broke me a little.




But man…

It should not take an entire movie of chaos, character regression, and internet nonsense just to land ONE good emotional beat.


Anyways catch y’all next time for this

Leave a comment